Skip to content

Bri Meets Books

Children's and YA literature reviews.

In no particular order..

The Summer Before by Ann Martin. Have I not rhapsodized about my love for the BSC enough? Maybe a little more is needed! I am so excited for this new book and am dying for an ARC of it.  This new Publisher’s Weekly article got me a bit more excited.  It could be five pages worth of Claudia’s outfits and I’d buy it. (April, Scholastic)

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney.   Underground student justice league. Said league  inspired by To Kill a Mockingbird. Boarding school scandal. Need I say more? Plus Daisy liked my mockup cover! (Fall 2010, Little Brown)

The Rise of Renegade X by Chelsea M. Campbell.  I just love superheroes. Just love them. And to see them in YA fiction makes me really happy.  Judging from the excerpt the author posted on her website, this superhero is snarky, which I always enjoy.  (May, EgmontUSA)

The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan. I’m a huge fan of Riordan, and have been lucky enough to correspond with him via email once or twice. I started reading the series when it was first released and haven’t looked back.  I love his writing for children (even though adults appreciate it too!), it’s layered with such humor, and depth, with relatable situations.  A new series is bound to be just as good as Percy Jackson.  (March, Disney Hyperion)

The Tension of Opposites by Kristina McBride.  With a plotline that sounds like a good Law and Order: SVU episode, The Tension of Opposites looks like it feeds into my recently-kindled need for some good thrilling YA. A kidnapped teen turning up after two years missing might sound like it’s “ripped from the headlines” as the blurb on Goodread states, but what headlines can’t tell you is the emotional toll and grip such an event has on those left behind. And that’s what I want to see in this novel. (May, EgmontUSA)

Palace Beautiful by Sarah Deford Williams.  A mysterious journal hidden in an attic. 1918’s flu epidemic, and a parallel to the present-day characters? Sounds like a book I would’ve loved to have existed when I was eleven, and reading Castle in the Attic. (April, Putnam Juvenile)

The Deadly Sister by Eliot Schrefer.  A girl who believes her sister is a murderer? That’s enough of a tagline for me. (May, Scholastic)

A Most Improper Magick by Stephanie Burgis.  First, the cover art is adorable. And the title! Second, it’s about a young witch in Jane Austen’s England!  Who wouldn’t want to read? It’s also the first of a series. (April, Atheneum)

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff. A new twist on the old tale of changlings, The Replacement looks excellent because it’s from the viewpoint of the replacement.  (September, Razorbill)

