Skip to content

Bri Meets Books

Children's and YA literature reviews.


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine and lets bloggers spotlight the upcoming releases they’re anxious to read.

My W.O.W this week is The Summer Before by Ann. Martin. It comes out March 2010.

Why? Because it’s only the greatest thing ever.  It’s the new Baby-Sitters Club novel! A prequel about the summer before the girls form the club, right before Stacey moves to Stoneybrook.

I love the BSC. I want to name my daughter Claudia. I have about 89% of the series, plus all the episodes, a few of the dolls, even a pin.   There’s probably a day that doesn’t go by I refer to the series in some way.  It taught me valuable life lessons, history (New York, New York taught me about The Cloisters!), literature (who doesn’t think of Claudia and the Genius of Elm Street when playing Scrabble?), art (I discovered Andrew Wyeth thanks to Claudia and the New Girl). I was able to empathize with Stacey as a divorced child, and I thought Dawn was awesome.

Let’s face it. I’d buy this novel if it was about Mary Ann starting her own Avon business at the age of 45. (Call me, Scholastic!)

That’s a mockup cover I made. Time well spent.


