Skip to content

Bri Meets Books

Children's and YA literature reviews.

Status: Currently accepting requests

I’m happy to receive books for review. I’ve made a few notes below. You may email me at briheartsbooks@gmail.com if you’re interested in submitting any titles for review.

– I’ve worked in the same bookstore for over five years. I merchandise project in the children’s and teen departments. This means I stock the shelves, unpack shipment, and maintain displays.  Information on what bookstore and its location can be provided in a private email, should a publicist, publisher, etc, need to know.

– I’m full-time graduate student. My B.A was  in English and by December 2009, I’ll have my Masters in Public Relations. I volunteer by doing a storytime at a children’s center. I also wrote a column for a local parenting magazine. I plan on entering the publishing industry upon graduation.

– I read both YA and children’s books. I love picture books, middle readers,  graphic novels, etc. I will consider all for review. Nonfiction and fiction are welcome. Titles from a series are fine as well.

– I don’t grade with a star system, as I feel it can’t accurately reflect my feelings on a work. I point out aspects of the work I liked, and any I didn’t. I try to be 100% honest in my reviews. I try to write reviews that are more than a paragraph and really highlight how I feel about the book.

– Topics of interest include women’s history and issues, gay/lesbian themes. Animals, “school stories” (Andrew Clements-esque) etc are also a favorite. 

– I’m not an avid reader of fantasy or historical fiction, but will consider the work based on the synopsis.  I prefer urban and contemporary fantasy over those set in magical lands. I’m currently not reading books with characters suffering from life-threatening illnesses, such as cancer.

– I try to provide a decent amount of time for review. Feel free to suggest a date you’d like the review posted by – if none is provided, I try to post the review to time with the book’s release.

I do not read self-published works, or anything in an electronic format.

– ARCs are welcome. Business cards or flyers with contact information – those I may submit my finished review to – are appreciated.

– I love participating in tours and doing interviews. I’m looking to do more giveaways.

– Any part of my reviews may be used in promotional material, final covers, etc. If on the off chance this happens, I’d love to be notified!

– Once a review is posted, I eventually add it to my account at Goodreads.com, mention it on my Twitter, and add it to Amazon.

– Favorites:

Authors: Joyce Carol Oates, Neil Gaiman, Andrew Clements, Judy Blume, Roald Dahl, Francesca Lia Block, Jo Knowles, Tanya Lee Stone, Christopher Moore, Beverly Cleary, Ann Martin
Series: The Baby-Sitters Club, Canterwood Crest, Percy Jackson, Skulduggery Pleasant, Judy Moody, Horrible Henry, Little Critter, Ramona
Books: As I Lay Dying, Brave New World, Into the Wild, The Phantom Tollbooth, A Little Princess, Paperbag Princess, The Book That Eats People, Stardust, The Last Unicorn, From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler, Elsewhere, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Frindle

