Skip to content

Bri Meets Books

Children's and YA literature reviews.

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren and you can learn about it here

Here’s the books I received or bought this week!

For Review:
Dani Noir by Nova Ren Suma
(September 2009, Simon and Schuster)

It’s taking all of my patience to not read this until Saturday, when I head off to Ft. Lauderdale for my cruise! Dani is a girl after my own heart: stuck in a small town, and prefering celluloid dreams of Rita Hayworth and noir films. But then when a real-life mystery occurs, Dani sets out to be like her screen heroes and solve it.

Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone
(April 2009, Candlewick)

This one got lost in the mail to me, but now I have it! The story of the Mercury 13 women who trained to be astronauts in the 1950s and 1960s at NASA but were refused entrance into the space program.

Another Faust by Daniel Nayeri and Dina Nayeri Viergutz
(August 2009, Candlewick)

Another for the cruise.. New retelling of the Faust legend. Five children vanish from Europe, and five years later, appear accompanied by a mysterious governess at an exclusive New York City party.

For Fun

The Collected Stories of Amy Hemple

I’d been recommended to check out her stuff, if I liked Lorrie Moore (which I really really do!). I picked this one up from my store’s bargain bin today. Not a young adult/kid lit author, but somebody I enjoy.

Jumping off Swings by Jo Knowles
(August 2009, Candlewick)

Not submitted for review, but I’m going to review it anyhow. I loved Knowles’ other book, Lessons from a Dead Girl, and can’t wait to read this one about the aftermath of a “one time” sexual encounter. Another one for the cruise.

