Skip to content

Bri Meets Books

Children's and YA literature reviews.

This is my first “in my mailbox” post! In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren.

For Review:

Horrid Henry by Francesca Simon
(April 09, Jabberwocky Sourcebooks)

First up, I received the first four of the Horrid Henry books, a first chapter series by Francesca Simon. Hugely popular in the UK, they’re now available in the United States. Each book has four stories, with illustrations by Tony Ross throughout the series. I’ve read one already, and I recommended them today to a parent looking for summer reading for a reluctant reader. They’re really funny – my stepmother teaches 2nd-3rd grade and I’ll be passing them along to her after I’m done. I think her class will enjoy them.

Horrid Henry, Horrid Henry and the Mega Mean Time Machine, Horrid Henry’s Stinkbomb and Horrid Henry Tricks the Tooth Fairy.



The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
(May 09, St. Martins Griffen)

I’d been eyeing this one at my store, so I jumped at the chance to review it.

Thirteen-year-old Kyra has grown up in an isolated community without questioning the fact that her father has three wives and she has twenty brothers and sisters, with two more on the way. That is, without questioning them much—if you don’t count her secret visits to the Mobile Library on Wheels to read forbidden books, or her meetings with Joshua, the boy she hopes to choose for herself instead of having a man chosen for her.

But when the Prophet decrees that she must marry her sixty-year-old uncle—who already has six wives—Kyra must make a desperate choice in the face of violence and her own fears of losing her family forever.

And I got this next batch a few weeks ago from Tilsbury Press, but I’m using them in my storytime and I’m reviewing them, so I’ll add them. They’re all nature-themed, because the organization promotes ecology, nature conversation, etc.

Just for Elephants by Carol Buckley

Beautiful photography accompanies a story about two elephants’ reunion in the Elephant

Sanctuary in Hohenwald, Tennessee. The book is written by one of the co-founders of the foundation.

Travels with Tarra by Carol Buckley

The story of a baby elephant, purchased as a gimmick for a tire salesman. After the author helped take care of her, she eventually bought her, and they performed together for twenty years. Also covers the founding of the Elephant Sanctuary.

The Very Best Bed by Rebekah Raye

A grey squirrel looks throughout the forest for the perfect place to sleep.

Saving Birds: Heroes Around the World by Pete Salmansohn and Stephen W. Kress

An Audubon book profiling various birds around the world and the people crusading to save them.

Sea Soup: Zooplankton by Mary Cerullo

A colorful look at zooplankton answering questions about these small yet important organisms.

Sea Soup: Phytoplankton by Mary Cerullo

A look at the tiny plants that aid humans in numerous ways.

Remember Me: Tomah Joseph’s Gift to Franklin Roosevelt by Donald Soctomah and Jean Flahive

A boyhood story of Franklin Roosevelt’s summers spent at Campobello Island Tomah Joseph, a former chief, who was a guide, birchbark canoe builder, and basketmaker.



